It’s Wrong To Be Right; It’s Right To Be Wrong

19 06 2009
The epiphany.

MOST PEOPLE ARE OTHER PEOPLE.
THEIR THOUGHTS ARE SOMEONE ELSE’S OPINIONS,
THEIR LIVES A MIMICRY,
THEIR PASSIONS A QUOTATION. – OSCAR WILDE

I just read Paul Arden’s “Whatever you think, think the opposite” in half an hour and took a lifetime’s worth of knowledge from it. His amazing insight on how things work is incredible and almost exactly how I see the world.

Every word in it meant so much to me. So much to a person who doesn’t want to be normal, doesn’t want to live like everyone else and refuse to give in to the traditional way of doing things. I hate being told of whats right and whats wrong.

“The problem with making sensible decisions is that so is everyone else.”

I get overly furious to the fact that they actually grade art in school. My friends know this due to my response to the subject every time it’s being brought up. Art is an expression, not a subject. If you’re talking about it, whether bad or good things, it’s good art. That’s appreciation. It’s an opinion, but not credible when judged and graded. It’s only fair to grade art if you’re a mind reader and have lived through every single moment in the artist’s life. It’s unfair to judge something you don’t completely understand. Through the eyes of the artist, their art tells a certain story. When someone else is introduced to the same art piece, they might have a different story to tell. There is no right or wrong in Art. If it means something to you, it means the world.

“So the next time you go to an art show or look at anything for that matter, observe what effect it has on you and try to form your own opinion. That way you become the critic and not a mouthpiece for someone else’s opinions.”

Like I said, everything Paul Arden said in this book meant something to me. It’s something I’ve thought but haven’t had the ability to express.

Back when I was working on getting a diploma, I got graded an A for one of the presentations for a speaking class. We were required to talk about a form of performing art and present it to a few people in the class. I decided to pick one that was close to heart and a topic that I knew well and felt confident enough to venture into. Poetry. I spoke about the concept of art and how unfair it is to judge or grade it. It was like I was in a trance and everything I said was only generated at that point in time, eventhough I did come to the test fully prepared with cue cards and stacks of notes. I recited a piece by my favourite modern poem, Otep Shamaya and got one hell of a reaction from the crowd. I was glad it made such an impact. And by far, I feel that grade was one grade I can say I’m proudest of. I spoke my mind and beliefs and for the first time, someone got it. Even if he didn’t quite understand everything nor agree with it, my lecturer was open to something different and unsafe and I respect the hell out of him for it. I was a bit surprised with the grade because he did start off the day saying that nothing in our content should have any violent or sexual reference in it. Mine was both vulgar and promiscious but he dug it. I will never forget that experience. It was so extremely liberating to have had the opportunity to express to an open mind.

If work is fresh and new, you can’t expect to like it straightaway,
because you have nothing to compare it with.
Good art speaks for itself. That doesn’t mean you have to like it.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with MDIS because I didn’t do it all according to how I was suppose to and I had a few classmates that wanted to venture to the same direction. Later on in the year, I had to complete a graduation project. So again, I went with something I know. As I had done with the rest of my modules in the course, I took the alternative route. I did things differently and unfortunately, did not get the same result as I did for my speaking class. But I know for a fact that I didn’t do anything wrong. I just did things differently. Paul Arden just confirmed it for me and made me feel better about that ridiculous C grade my lecturer gave me.

Good marks will not secure you an interesting life.
Your imagination will.

If you haven’t read this brilliant book, please do. It will change your life. Fer real.

You cant afford the house of your dreams.
That’s why it is the house of your dreams.

So either find a way of getting it
(you’ll find the means),
or be satisfied with dissatisfaction.

So here’s to you Paul Arden. I may have discovered you way too late but I appreciate your creation. Your unbelievable art inspires me to be the best I can be and I thank you for it.

I hope heaven is awesome for you.

7 April 1940 – 2 April 2008

Inspiring Shenanigans
Lyds – 9:21pm
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

